KEMPA Journalism

Awards, Contests and Critiques

New publication critique forms and how to enter this year

May 19, 2020

Board members have worked on new publication critiques for the past six months, updating and re-formatting the newspaper, yearbook and website forms, and creating a new form for magazines.  Instead of detailed lists of standards,...

Awards Presented at 2019 KEMPA Fall Conference

October 14, 2019

KEMPA honored four individuals with awards presented at the annual Fall Conference, Oct. 11, 2019, at UW-Whitewater. Nancy Becker Newspaper Adviser of the Year:  Brenda Smith, Grayslake Central High School Friend of KEMPA:  Jeff Pertl, ...

2019 KEMPA Publication Awards Announced

October 12, 2019

YEARBOOK AWARDS ALL-KEMPA Legend,  Brookfield Central High School,   Brookfield, WI The Beacon,   Harborside Academy,   Kenosha, WI The Tartan,  Homestead High School,  Mequon, WI The Blaze,   Indian Trail...

KEMPA Publication Awards Announced 2018

October 30, 2018

KEMPA Online Critiques ALL KEMPA Niles West HS FIRST Huntley HS Grayslake North HS James B. Conant HS Lake Zurich HS www.lzbearf...

2017 Publication Critique Results

October 20, 2017

Congratulations to the KEMPA publications on the results of their critiques.  We encourage all KEMPA members to send in their publications in the spring for judging.  We recommend that advisers and students use the results...

KEMPA honors award recipients at Fall Conference

September 22, 2017

The KEMPA Board is pleased to honor award recipients at Fall Scholastic Journalism Conference, Oct. 13, 2017: Nancy Becker Newspaper Adviser of the Year: DENNIS BROWN, Huntley High School, Huntley, Illinois Administrator of ...

Award winners honored at KEMPA Fall Conference

December 24, 2016

The KEMPA Board is pleased to honor award recipients in the following categories: Nancy Becker Newspaper Advisers of the Year:   MICHAEL GLUSKIN, Libertyville High School, Libertyville, Illinois MATTHEW SMITH, Fond du LAC H...

Awards, Contests and Critiques