KEMPA Journalism

  • October 30Advisers, plan to attend Winter Advisers Seminar, March 1-2

Friend of KEMPA Award

Use this form, Friend of KEMPA form 2017, to nominate a Friend of KEMPA.  Deadline: June 15.

The Friend of KEMPA award is a way for the Board of Directors to honor and recognize people who have contributed extraordinary time and/or effort to the organization.

This award, when given, is part of the annual meeting held at the Fall Scholastic Journalism Conference.

The 2018 Friend of KEMPA is Karl Boettcher of Visual Image Photography

Boettcher was recognized at the 2018 Fall Scholastic Journalism Conference on Oct. 12, 2018 at UW-Whitewater.


1991 Lou Zahn, Continuing Education, UW-W
1992 Dr. Tom McLeRoy, Dean, Continuing Education, UW-W
1994 Dr. I.W. Schaffer, Emeritus Executive Director, UW-W / Robert Tottingham, UW-Madison Extension
1994 Jim Eloff, Continuing Education, UW-W / Michael Schudrowitz, Nikon Corporation
1996 Mary Markus, Continuing Education, UW-W
1998 Peter Conover, Cable 6 Coordinator, UW-W
1999 Cindy Wandschneider, Walsworth Publishing / Ken Whittemore, Josten’s Publishing
2000 Larry Sherman, Continuing Education, UW-W
2001 Kendrick Johnson, Madison, WI
2002 Rita Schopen, Milwaukee, WI
2003 Doug Wojcik
2004 Rick Wood, “Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel”
2005 Law Firm of LaFollette, Godfrey and Kahn
2006 Betsy Schroeder, Lake Geneva Elementary School (WI)
2008 Mara Lee Searing, Continuing Education, UW-W
2009 Eric Field, Continuing Education, UW-W
2010 Mike James, Walsworth / Pat Rand, Jostens / Maureen Olofsson, Herff Jones
2011 Randy Swikle, Johnsburg High School (IL)(retired)
2012 Bryce Ulmer, S.C. Johnson and Son, Inc. and Corporate Images, Doug Wojcik, Stevens Point Journal (WI)
2013 Kellie Doyle, Lake Forest College (IL)
2014 Jayme Bogner, Jostens
2016, SNO Sites, Jason Wallestad
2017, Marquette University, Diederich College of Communication, Ana Garner and Karen Slattery

2018, Karl Boettcher, Visual Image Photography

Friend of KEMPA Award