KEMPA Journalism

Hall of Fame

The KEMPA Hall of Fame was established by the Board of Directors as a way of recognizing those who have made outstanding contributions, over an extended period of time, to the success and progress of the Kettle Moraine Press Association.

Suggestions for a Hall of Fame  recipient may be given to any board member. Decisions on membership in the Hall are made by the Board of Directors and announced at the annual meeting held at the Fall Scholastic Journalism Conference at UW-Whitewater.

The 2016 Hall of Fame inductee is Jeff Willauer.

1987 Dr. Richard Nelson, founder of KEMPA / Dr. I.W. Schaffer, UW-W (Executive Director)
1988 Jan Kohls, Fort Atkinson (WI) High School/ Judy Zigler, Whitewater (WI) High School
1989 Eileen Kohnke, New Berlin Eisenhower (WI) High School / Dr. Thomas McLeRoy, Dean of Continuing Education, UW-Whitewater
1991 Ron Beem, Byron (IL) High School / John Rowley, Willowbrook (IL) High School
1992 John McCullough, WTMJ Channel 4 Milwaukee
1993 Elsie Stiffler, Willowbrook (IL) High School
1995 Nancy Becker, Milton (WI) High School / Stuart Ciske, DPI, Madison (WI)
1999 Tom Gebhardt, Prospect (IL) High School
2000 Mark Thompson, Antioch (IL) High School
2001 Hank Koshollek, The Capital Times / Susan Tantillo, Wheeling (IL) High School
2002 Katherine Conover, Janesville Parker (WI) High School
2003 John Culbertson, Waterloo (WI) High School
2004 Sandy Jacoby, Tremper (WI) High School / Alan Packard, St. Mary’s Springs (WI) High School
2005 Linda Barrington, Wauwatosa East (WI) High School
2006 Joe Koshollek, Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel
2007 Jill Cook , Brookfield Central (WI) High School
2009 Stan Zoller, Rolling Meadows (IL) High School
2010 Carl Sigler, Wisconsin Academy (retired)
2011 Kathleen Burke, Regina Dominican (IL) High School / Mike Gordy, Antioch Community (IL) High School (retired) / Audrey Kemp, D.C. Everest (WI) High School / Dave Wallner, Stoughton (WI) High School (retired)
2013 Mike Doyle, Belvidere North (IL) High School
2015 Tom Juran, Brookfield Central (WI) High School
2016 Jeff Willauer, Waunakee (WI) High School

Hall of Fame