KEMPA Journalism

KEMPA Journalism

KEMPA Journalism

Contests & Critiques


A basic critique of your publication is INCLUDED in the price of your membership. A more detailed SUPER critique is available for an additional 15.00.

Please complete the following form for your critique.
Membership and Critique Form

June 15 for newspapers/magazines
July 1 for Spring delivery yearbooks
October 15 for Fall delivery yearbooks

The forms used to critique student publications are available below. Each form details the elements critiqued for the specific format – Newspaper, Yearbook, Online publication and Literary Magazine. Students and teachers are encouraged to use the forms to critique their own publications!

Newspaper Critique
Yearbook Critique
Literary Magazine critique
KEMPA Online Critique 2014

2014 Critique Results

Brookfield Central High School, Legend, adviser Tom Juran
D.C. Everest High School, Everette, adviser Audrey Kemp
Hinsdale Central High School, El Diablo, adviser Erin Timmons
Harborside Academy, The Beacon, adviser Cindy Renaud
Naperville North High School, Reflections, adviser Kristian Mazzaferro
Wausau West High School, Aurora, adviser Cathy Newton
Wheeling High School, Lair, adviser Sandra Gruen

First Place 
Auburn High School, The Excalibur, adviser Kim Campbell
Fort Atkinson High School, Tchogeerrah, adviser Dana Linde
Grayslake Central High School, Emerald, adviser Kevin Farrell
Grayslake North High School, A Knight’s Tale, adviser Thomas New
Maine South High School, Eyrie, advisers Amy Kladis and Jim McGowan
Riverside Brookfield High School, Rouser, adviser Kimberly Hayes
Waterloo High School, Wathilo, adviser Michael Chopin

Second Place
Craig High School, Phoenix, adviser Kristin Elsbernd
Elk Grove High School, Montage, adviser Lisa Martineau
Homestead High School, The Tartan, adviser Rachel Rauch
J.I. Case High School, Hesperian, adviser Kari Morey
Oak Park River Forest High School, Tabula, advisers Dan Ganschow and Michelle Carrow

Third Place 
Brookfield Academy, Anabasis, adviser Karen Schleicher
Guilford High School, Valhalla, adviser Dan Bingley
Laconia High School, The Laconian, adviser Danielle Olejniczak

Honorable Mention 
Wauwatosa West High School, The Olympian, adviser Dan Prothero

Online publications:
Niles West High School, Niles West News,, adviser Evelyn Lauer

First Place 
Niles North High School, North Star News,, adviser Ivan Silverberg

Second Place
Huntley High School, The Huntley Voice,, adviser Dennis Brown
Libertyville High School, Drops of Ink,, adviser Michael Gluskin

Third Place 
Adlai E. Stevenson High School, The Statesman,, adviser Dean Bradshaw
Belvidere High School, The North View,, adviser Mike Doyle
Reagan High School, Husky Howler,, adviser Sarah Berndt
Wauwatosa West High School, West Side Stories,, adviser Chris Lazarski

Individual Contests will begin in 2015

Photojournalism Contest (2014 only)

Best of Show: Charlie Banke, Hinsdale Central High School, “Tip Off,” adviser Erin Timmons

Best Sports Photo 
1st Place, Charlie Banke, Hinsdale Central High School, “Tip Off,” adviser Erin Timmons
2nd Place, Charlie Banke, Hinsdale Central High School, “Dive In,” adviser Erin Timmons
3rd  Place, Ariel Valenzuela, J.A. Craig High School, “Soccer Players,” adviser Kristen Elsbernd

Best Spirit Photo
1st Place, Natalie Laczewski, Lakes Community High School,  “Cheerleader,” adviser Jamie Born
2nd Place,  Ariel Valenzuela, J.A. Craig High School, “Stick Boy,” adviser J.A. Craig
3rd  Place, Nicole Martin, Homestead High School, “Hands in the Air,” adviser Rachel Rauch

Best Feature Photo
1st Place, Ariel Valenzuela, J.A. Craig High School, “Girl in Dress,” adviser J.A. Craig
2nd Place, Suraj Marwaha, Hinsdale Central High School, “Lobster Boy,” adviser Erin Timmons
3rd  Place,  Natalie Laczewski, Lakes Community High School,  “Drama Play Photo,” adviser Jamie Born